United States of America Visa Waiver Program

Visa Waiver Program (VMP) enables most citizens or nationals of the participating countries below to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without having to obtain a visa. So if your wanting to travel under 90 days and are a national of the participating countries you must have a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorisation (ESTA) prior to travel.

United Kingdom** France Ireland
 Germany  Netherlands  Taiwan* 
Andorra Hungary Norway
Australia Iceland Portugal
Austria Monaco San Marino
Belgium Italy Singapore
Brunei Japan Slovakia
Chile Latvia Slovenia
Czech Republic Liechtenstein South Korea
Denmark Lithuania Spain
Estonia Luxembourg Sweden
Finland  Malta  Switzerland
Greece  New Zealand  

**To be eligible to travel under the VWP, British citizens must have the unrestricted right of permanent abode in England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man.

Apply online direct from US Department of Homeland Security at a fee of $14 if you are accepted and $4 if you are denied.

Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015
Under the Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015, travellers in the following categories are no longer eligible to travel or be admitted to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP):
-Nationals of VWP countries who have traveled to or been present in Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria on or after March 1, 2011 (with limited exceptions for travel for diplomatic or military purposes in the service of a VWP country)
-Nationals of VWP countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria.These individuals will still be able to apply for a visa using the regular appointment process at a U.S. Embassy or Consulate.
For those who require a U.S. visa for urgent business, medical, or humanitarian travel to the United States, U.S. Embassies and Consulates stand ready to handle applications on an expedited basis.

In addition, as of April 1, 2016, you must have an e-passport to use the VWP. An e-Passport is an enhanced secure passport with an embedded electronic chip. The chip can be scanned to match the identity of the traveler to the passport. You can readily identify an e-Passport, because it has a unique international symbol on the cover – see photo.



Tagged under :

Leave a comment